Karen Uhlenbeck first women to win the Abel Prize:

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has decided to award the Abel
Prize for 2019 to Karen Keskulla Uhlenbeck of the University of Texas at
Austin, USA “for her pioneering achievements in geometric partial differential
equations, gauge theory and integrable systems, and for the fundamental impact
of her work on analysis, geometry and mathematical physics.”
 For details visit here. We congratulate her.

75750-dij Numerical Analysis and Computational Fluid Dynamics:
Workshop in Honor of Münevver Tezer-Sezgin’s 67th Birthday (NACFD-2019).
The workshop features scientific talks mainly in the area of numerical analysis with
applications specifically in computational fluid dynamics. The workshop will take place
at the Department of Mathematics, Middle East Technical University (METU), April 19-20, 2019.
The details about workshop can be found in the web page of the event.

Antalya Algebra Days XXI will be held between May 15-19, 2019 at Nesin Math Village. The details of the event can be found in the webpage.

mehpare hoca We are deeply sorry that our Honorary Board and Scientific Committee member esteemed  Prof. Dr. Mehpare Bilhan passed away on  January 20, 2019.

 Polish Women of Mathematics is organizing a conference “On the Trail of Women in Mathematics” that will be dedicated to Sofia Kowalewska. The event will be held between August 31-September 02, 2019 in Krakow. The details can be found in .

Cahit Arf Lecture 2018 will be held on November 29, 2018 at Department of Mathematics, METU.  The details can be found in the webpage of the event.

Arf Lecture poster

European Women in Mathematics General Meeting 2018 will be held between September 3-7, 2018 in Graz, Austria. The details about the meeting can be found in the webpage.

  World Meeting for Women in Mathematics

The (WM)^2; World Meeting for Women in Mathematics  will be held July 31, 2018, before ICM 2018. Website is

If you want to attend  (WM)^2+ICM, please visit the Open Arms  program; 

EWM grant for members of early career or  from developing country:

EWM will start awarding a few grants each year for female mathematicians that are EWM members and are at an early stage of their career or work in a developing country, who need funding (travel and/or accommodation, up to 400 EUR) for participating and giving a talk at a significant conference in their field.

The applicant should submit to the following:

-a CV

-a short letter from the PhD advisor (in case of PhD students) or of the applicant (in case of PhD holders) describing the relevance of participating at that event and motivating the need of funding.

-a presentation abstract, names and institutional affiliations of co-authors and an estimate of the expenses for which the application is made.

Grant holders will be expected to represent the EWM when participating in the meeting for which the funding was applied for. In particular, the EWM logo should be added to talks and posters that the successful applicant presents. Moreover, promotional material (that will be sent to the applicant before the meeting) should be laid out at the registration desk of the meeting if agreed by the organizers.

Partial Support for Activities of TKMD for EWM Members:

If you are a member of European Women in Mathematcs (EWM) in Turkey and paying your fees regularly, you may get a partial support to attend the activities of TKMD in Turkey. If you are not a member then you may become by registering EWM membership. You may pay your membership fee to EWM Turkey Coordinator, Semra Pamuk, METU. (You may contact her via

The Royal Spanish Mathematical Society (RSME) and the Association for Turkish Women in Mathematics (TKMD) have signed a collaboration agreement .

The Royal Spanish Mathematical Society (RSME) and the Association for Turkish Women in Mathematics (TKMD) has signed an agreement of collaboration. RSME recognize the members of TKMD to become Reciprocity Members of RSME with a 50% reduced annual fee of RSME membership. If you would like to become a Reciprocity Member of RSME, please send an email to
Within the framework of this agreement, both societies agreed to exchange any periodical publications,
exchange invitations for all relevant activities organized by each society, keep frequent contacts aimed to the study and solving of problems associated with teaching, research and promotion of mathematics,organize a joint meetings, carry out necessary tasks to facilitate the exchange of researchers and graduate students between both countries.
To better facilitate the tasks of the signed agreement, both societies  seek to gather information on the Spanish and Turkish mathematicians who has/had been collaborating. Hence, TKMD is requesting its members that work with Spanish researchers to fill up the data form “Data on Spanish-Turkish Collaboration in Mathematics” which can be accessed at:


Our Member Sinem Çelik Onaran has been one of the 31 TUBA-Gebip award winner of 2016. We congratulate her.




 ekinozmanEkin Özman has been one of the 48 BAGEP award winner of 2016. We congratulate her.




3rd Women and Science Meeting which is held in Çorum by the support of Hitit University and TSO Çorum got local media attention.


The conference “Women in Numbers Europe-2”  will be held in 25 September – 2 October 2016, at Nesin Mathematics Village, Turkey. For details you may visit the link.

2nd Workshop of Women Mathematicians which is held in Sivas by the support of Cumhuriyet University got local media attention.IMG-20150502-WA0004-1 IMG-20150502-WA0005-1-1



Prof. Mustafa Parlar Science Award has been given to Prof. Münevver Tezer from METU.




report on activities of Association for Turkish Women in  Mathematics has been published in the Newsletter no:25 of EWM.



In 2014,  Maryam Mirzakhani has become the first woman to win the Fields Medal, the most prestigious prize in mathematics. We congratulate her.